School History

 

École Whitehorse Elementary School (É.W.E.S.) is located downtown and opened its doors in 1952 as an English language Secondary School. The French Immersion program started at É.W.E.S in January, 1981. From 1984 until 1990, the Programme cadre en français, French First language instruction, was provided at École Whitehorse Elementary. The school at this time supported three different programs: English, French Immersion and French as a First language. From 1990 to the spring of 2006, École Whitehorse Elementary School was a dual track school with French Immersion and English streams. In September of 2004, a late immersion program was initiated at the grade six level, with a late immersion grade seven class added the following school year. In the spring of 2006, the English stream was moved to Selkirk School. As of September 2006, É.W.E.S. is a single track French Immersion School with both early and late immersion programs.